top of page

FITNESS FOCUS/ MY CURRENT FITNESS SCHEDULE


The gym and fitness has become part of my everyday. I train 6x a week and it didn’t always start off that way. My fitness journey properly began about two years ago and it hasn’t been easy. Here is some insight into my journey, tips and hopefully convince you that you should start your own fitness journey.

---------

Benefits

The benefits which I have for me is both mental and physical. It gives me clarity, helps me to destress, gives my mind something healthy to focus on and helps my brain to shut off and enjoy my favourite music.

Here are a few other simple benefits we forget to remember:

  • Good for your muscles and bones

  • Helps with weight loss

  • Boosts your mood during and post workout

  • Boost your endurance

  • Exercise delivers oxygen and nutrients to your tissues and helps your cardiovascular system work more efficiently

  • Increase your energy Levels

  • Reduce your risk of Chronic Disease

  • Contribute positively to skin health

  • Assists in getting rid of toxins in the body

  • Help your brain health and memory

Types of Fitness/modes of being active

(Don’t be afraid to try something new)

  • Yoga

  • Barre

  • Bootcamp groups (look on your community board on your council website for notices)

  • Any sport

  • Walking

  • Running

  • Bike

  • Swimming

  • Dancing

  • Circuit training

  • Pilates

It’s important to find what works for you and feels like the least amount of pressure to enjoy.

My fitness history

As someone to now which hates to have a rest day it started off quite different. Being quite shy when growing up and intimidated by the gym like most are, going for walks in my area. I had a gym membership in Year 11 and 12 and then enjoyment in the gym fazed out and my priorities changed. For two years my exercise consisted of walking. I did the odd bootcamp here and there but never really committed to anything.

It all took a turn when I went to a gym with one of my best friend’s told me to come and she put me through a workout with her and I had the intuition that I needed to make some changes and the gym would be a good asset to my life.

At this point my diet was to eat whatever I wanted, I was partying alot and I had a lot of toxicity and hardships in my life. I was at a point want to make positive changes and find myself again.

I started by going to the gym at the same time everyday or organise times to go with my friend so I had even more guilt of not going, doing classes to minimize my thought processes of work outs. The trick is to just get up and do it, so if you struggle to find the motivation, all it takes is taking that first step.

I started personal training to get help with training more suited to my body type, we didn’t mesh as well and I still was in quite a bad place mentally which caused our personalities to clash, as I wasn’t my true self.

I would create my own workouts from pinterest, watch YouTube videos, and did work out plans of Ashy Bines and Kayla.

I then was presented with the opportunity from my gym to complete a 21 day challenge through and external source. It came with diet help including a detoxification process, a few PT sessions a week (can’t remember how many as it was a while ago). I failed miserably with the diet as my body was going from a moderately unhealthy diet to a healthy diet. It was too much of a shock to my body so it caused me to fail. But this experience lead me to the trainer which I have now and I have only seen great results.

I did get to a point at the end of last year which I decided to try and complete work outs on my own and try and save some money. This caused me to overwork myself with two hiit classes (I did not have the endurance or body to keep up with this) a day, me to gain weight and felt lost. Even though I was using past workouts, it just wasn’t working for me. I realised I needed to have my trainier and my training is something is worth my investment for me.

My current workout schedule

MON

TUES

WED

THURS

FRI

SAT

SUN

Legs + Sprints

Arms +Abs

Legs + Sometimes Hiit Class at lunch

Arms + Abs + Yoga at lunch

Lunch session

Tabata Hiit Class or catch up

Barre

Rest Day

GYM: 6:30am - 7:45am

Every session starts with:

5 minutes Treadmill / Foam roll / Mobility and activation using bands

Session Ends with:

15 minutes of Hiit / Foam Roll and stretching & slowing down the breathe

Fitness & Food Inspo Instagrams (for the gals):

  • @sarahs_day

  • @tiffhall_xo

  • @whitneyysimmons

  • @rachelaust

  • @equalution

  • @jazgoesfitspo

  • @kyliegilbert

  • @jshealth

  • @_fitwithbritt

My fitness essentials and supplements

We all have different fitness goals and they change as we improve ourselves. These are some of my fitness favourite and essentials in my gym bag, as well as my favourite supplements I enjoy.

(Click on product for link to website)

Mindset tips/Conclusion

As someone who didn’t always enjoy the gym, I know how it feels and its hard to break through that barrier and go outside your comfort zone. Training is all about trial and error. In my opinion everybody should do some sort of physical activity to enhance the mind and keep healthy. Persistence, consistency and patience is the most important factors for training. Learn to love it and keep at it. Set some goals and kick ass!!

-----

Disclaimer: I tend to be quite a FAD person and can easily be influenced from what all the fitspo people on instagram are doing. It’s easy to do and I can forget that these people are paid to indorse certain products, so when wanting to purchase something to improve your training, make sure you research it and that it’s a benefit to your health. Also with your training, on instagram an influencer will have a workout and like a particular workout and may even work different for your body, so take your time in the fitness process, patience and consistency is key.


bottom of page